top of page

Favorite Books Read in 2020 so far!(January-June)

Hey everyone! I hope you're doing well! I've recently noticed the lack of book reviews on this blog. I used to write book reviews all the time, but now I decided to do them every once in a while. So, because I've been slacking, I decided to make a post of the best books I've read in 2020 so far! My reading year didn't start out that great, but since I've been quarantined, I've been reading a lot more. So instead of mentioning all the books I've read so far this year, I'm going to just mention my favorites, because it would take too long, and also because I've dnfed a lot of books in the beginning of the year. So without further ado, here are the best books I've read so far in 2020!

"Nexus" by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

I'm in the minority, because I loved "Zenith" by them, and I loved this series so much! It's a really fun young adult sci-fi series. This book was an amazing sequel and an amazing conclusion. I absolutely loved the characters in this series. I can't wait to see what both of them write next! 5/5 Stars

"Tower of Dawn" by Sarah J. Maas. I love this series so much! The "Throne of glass" series is amazing and it's one of my favorite series now. I read the first two books a long time ago and really enjoyed them. However, I hated the third book "Heir of fire". I thought it was really boring. Several years later, I decided to give this series another try after loving her "A Court of Thorns and Roses" series. I'm so glad I did, because I loved the third book way more the second time! After that I continued the series and enjoyed the other books. Then I got to "Tower of Dawn" which is about Chaol. I know a lot of people don't like Chaol, but I personally always loved him. I think he's a great guy and deserves to be happy. I absolutely loved reading his book. It made me love him even more! This book was beautiful and total perfection! Definitely one of my favorite books in the series! 5/5 Stars

"Dating You/Hating You" by Christina Lauren

I've seen their books all over Booktube the past year. I love romance books, so I knew I had to give them a try. I chose this book in particular because my sister read it first and loved it! I read it and loved it too! This book was so good! I loved how nerdy the main characters were, and I loved reading about them competing for the same job. It was such a fun book, and the romance was incredible. I can't wait to read their other books now. 5/5 Stars

"Cress" by Marissa Meyer.

I have to add this book to the list. I love this series so much! I loved every single book. I read the first two years ago, and then the last two books/novellas this year. I loved "Winter" but I think "Cress" is my favorite, so I'm putting it on the list. This book was so good! It was full of action. I loved the characters. I loved Cress because I found her so relatable and I love Captain Thorne so much too! 5/5 Stars

"Little Fires Everywhere" by Celeste Ng

I've had this book and her first book on my shelf for several years now. I finally got to this book in 2020, and it was so good! This book taught me so much and made me think a lot. I also loved the characters. After reading the book, I watched the show and loved it too! I thought it was a great adaptation, and I loved the cast. The show was so well done, and it made me love the book even more. 5/5 Stars

"Wonder" by R.J. Palacio

Oh man. If I had to choose one book to recommend everyone to read, it would be this book! So, I've had this book on my TBR for like seven years and finally got to it now. I have no idea why I waited so long to read this because oh my gosh, it was amazing! This book is honestly one of the best books I've ever read. It's adorable, and very empowering. "Wonder" was such a beautiful book, and it's so important to read. I think everyone needs to read this book. The book made me feel so many emotions. I felt for Auggie so much! I think about this book all the time. I honestly can't say much about it, you just have to read it to understand. This book needs to be required reading for elementary and middle school students. I wish I had this book when I was in school. I also watched the movie and loved it so much! It was the best adaptation I've ever seen. Go and pick up this book. You won't regret it! 5/5 Stars

"The Worst Best Man" by Mia Sosa

I loved this book. It was so adorable. The romance was so cute, and I loved the diversity. The main character is Black/ Brazilian, and I loved learning about the culture. It was just a fun book and I highly recommend it. I can't wait for the next book! 5/5 Stars

"Things I Can't Forget" by Miranda Kenneally

She is one of my favorite authors. I've read her first two books in the series and loved them so much! This book did not disappoint! It was just as amazing as the other two. I loved that the main character was religious like I am. It was so refreshing to read. I also loved that the book was set at a summer camp. The setting made the book so much fun to read. I loved the love interest, Matt. He was so swoony and sweet. I can't wait to read the next book in the series. Her books are so underrated, I want more people to read them. If you love young adult contemporary, you have to read her books. They're so good! 5/5 Stars

"Royal Assassin" by Robin Hobb

I've wanted to read this series for years. I'm reading it now for a read-along on Booktube. I wasn't a huge fan of the first book. This book was so much better! I loved it! I can't wait to read the last book very soon. 5/5 Stars

And last but not least, I want to talk about a book that I loved so much and is now one of my new favorite books(besides Wonder). That book is "Again, but better" by Christine Riccio. I've been watching Christine for years and was so excited when I found out she was publishing a book. I knew I had to read it!

I loved it so much!! I have no idea why this book has so much hate. I thought the book was absolute perfection, and Christine is an amazing writer. The plot for her book was so unique and well written. I loved reading about the main character traveling and studying abroad. It was so fun! I loved all the other characters, especially Pilot. He was so cute and funny. The romance was also so well done! This book was absolutely amazing. If you are thinking about reading it, do it! Don't listen to the negative reviews on goodreads. If you love "Anna and the french kiss" or "Fangirl" by Rainbow Rowell, you will love this book. I also found the main character so relatable! I thought I was reading about myself. I cannot wait for Christine's next book! You need to read it! 5/5 Stars

So yeah, those are the best books I've read so far in 2020. I read a good balance of adult, middle grade, and young adult so far. I can't wait to see what other books I'll love the second half of the year. Stay tuned to find out! Thank you so much for reading this. I will have more posts coming up soon. Have an awesome day and stay safe!

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page